Transformer of the Month: Lisa Avery

Lisa - Before & After

Lisa – Before & After

This warrior took her first class with the simple goal of not falling off the machine! Now, she’s 32 pounds lighter and had to shop for a new wardrobe when she went from a size 8 to a size 4. Here’s her story.

How did you find The Studio (MDR)?

Actually, The Studio (MDR) found me. I was taking classes for a short time at another studio where Jessi were previously teaching. After my first class, I literally could not move for several days. While I’d initially only wanted to do SPX for one month, after the first day I was hooked. It was like nothing I had ever experienced.

Tell us a little more about that first class, and your initial goals …

I was hoping not to fall of the machine! I have exercised all my life. I always had personal trainers and private classes but I was getting older and my body seemed to be slowing down. I also stopped smoking after 32 years and gained a lot of weight as a result. People constantly referred to me as “thick.” When I first started working out at The Studio (MDR), my goals were to change my body shape — not just lose weight. I wanted to re-shape my body and build my endurance to get as strong as possible.

What were some of your first challenges you had to face?

When I started at The Studio (MDR) I had extreme problems with my back and hips. I couldn’t even hold a plank without going to my knees, and almost every exercise would cause me a great deal of pain in my back as well as my hips. I discussed my issues with the wonderful instructors and they would all modify certain moves and guide and help me through it all. Pretty quickly, I started getting so strong in my core that my back pain disappeared altogether.

How has The Studio (MDR) changed your life?

For starters, I have far exceeded my initial goal of getting uber-fit and strong. I was 154 pounds and a size 8 at my heaviest; now I’m down to 122 and a size 4. It was so much fun buying all new clothes! In addition to working out at The Studio (MDR), I also completely changed what I eat. I am living my life gluten free, I limit my carbs, and I eat primarily protein and vegetables. And I am loving it! Even better, my life has become so much fuller with all the new friends I have made at The Studio (MDR). Everyone is so inspiring and motivated. I found it so helpful and supportive when Lisa invited The Studio (MDR) to do the Cleanse Challenges. I have become very close with several women at The Studio (MDR) and often socialize with them outside of class. I am grateful for so many wonderful friends that I have made here.

Any advice to those who are inspired by your success?

My advice is to not over-train; I have done that in the past, not allowing my body to recover, and it wasn’t helpful at all. In fact, I found that I lost more inches when I slowed down and gave my body a break between workouts. Also, it’s crucial to realize that diet is at least 50 percent of the equation when it comes to fitness, and that includes staying well hydrated.

One thought on “Transformer of the Month: Lisa Avery

Leave a Reply

